Joyce Applauds Cuyahoga County Sexual Assault Task Force’s Progress in Pursuing Justice for Victims

Mar 14, 2019

WASHINGTON – Today, Congressman Dave Joyce applauded the progress made by the Cuyahoga County Sexual Assault Task Force as it nears an indictment in its 800th victim’s case. In total, the Task Force has opened cases connected to 7,001 sexual assault kits. A Co-Chair and founder of the Congressional Bipartisan Task Force to End Sexual Violence, Dave has led this effort on the federal level.

“As a former prosecutor, I applaud the Cuyahoga County Sexual Assault Task Force for their dedicated efforts to hold those who commit these horrible crimes accountable,” said Dave. “Our communities are safer because of their tireless work. The Task Force has taken hundreds of dangerous criminals off the street, identified serial rapists and sex offenders, and empowered victims through their unwavering pursuit of justice.”

“The progress made by the Cuyahoga County Sexual Assault Kit Initiative is a direct result of the Task Force’s relentless pursuit of justice for every sexual assault victim,” said the Cuyahoga County Prosecutors Office. “We will continue to diligently work through the backlog to ensure justice for all victims.”

“We must continue to battle the sexual assault kit backlog and give victims access to the justice they deserve,” said Dave. That’s why earlier this year, I introduced a bipartisan resolution to ensure the same progress we’ve seen in Cuyahoga County can be implemented across the country.”

Introduced in January, the resolution calls on states to conduct an audit to inventory all untested sexual assault kits, submit previously untested sexual assault kits to a laboratory and require DNA testing within a specific timeframe, and to work with sexual assault survivor advocates, sexual assault nurse examiners, law enforcement and others to ensure the response to sexual violence is victim-centered and collaborative, among other measures. Task force Co-Chairs Ann Kuster (NH-2) and Jackie Speier (CA-14), as well as Representatives Mike Turner (OH-10), John Katko (NY-24), Brendan Boyle (PA-2), Troy Balderson (OH-12) and Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23) all joined Dave in introducing this resolution as original cosponsors.

Recent Posts

Feb 12, 2024

Joyce, Rouzer, Pallone, Sykes Introduce Bill to Preserve America’s Beaches

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Representatives Dave Joyce (R-OH-14), David Rouzer (R-NC-07), Frank Pallone (D-NJ-06), and Emilia Sykes (D-OH-13) reintroduced the Beaches Environmental Assessment and Coastal Health (BEACH) Act. The funding provided through this bill helps state and local governments test, monitor, and identify contamination in recreational waters, such as the Great Lakes.  “Every year, Ohio families and tourists […]

Feb 7, 2024

Congressman Joyce Releases Statement on Vote to Impeach Secretary Mayorkas

WASHINGTON D.C. – Today, Congressman Dave Joyce (OH-14) released the following statement on his vote to impeach Department of Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas.  “In February 2021, Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas swore an oath to support and defend the Constitution and pledged to faithfully discharge the duties of his office. The Secretary of Homeland Security has the […]

Feb 6, 2024

Joyce Conservation Bill Passes the House

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman Dave Joyce’s (OH-14) bill, H.R. 5009, the Wildlife Innovation and Longevity Driver Reauthorization (WILD) Act, passed the U.S. House of Representatives. This bipartisan legislation would reauthorize the Partners for Fish and Wildlife Program, which enables wildlife and habitat conservation in all 50 states and territories, and the Multinational Species Conservation Fund, which […]