Joyce Helps Secure Federal Agricultural Disaster Designation for Ashtabula, Geauga and Lake Counties

BAINBRIDGE – Today, Congressman Dave Joyce praised the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) for announcing a primary agricultural disaster designation for Ashtabula, Geauga and Lake Counties. This designation, which follows a formal requestmade by Dave and the entire Ohio Congressional delegation, makes farmers in these counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), including emergency loans.

“Agriculture is one of Ohio’s top industries with Ohio farms accounting for more than 14 million acres across the Buckeye State and providing a large portion of the country’s source of corn, wheat and soybeans,” said Dave. “Simply put, Ohio’s agricultural industry is vitally important to both our nation’s food security and economic well-being. Unfortunately, our farms have been devastated by historic rainfall, flooding and tornados. I commend the USDA for recognizing how this year’s severe weather has crippled Ohio farmers and look forward to seeing this disaster designation help lift the economic strain off of them, their families and communities.” 

On June 6, 2019, President Trump signed supplemental appropriations for disaster relief into law, which provides assistance for farmers who have incurred losses due to natural disasters. Not long after, on June 19, Dave wrote to USDA Secretary Sonny Perdueto bring to his attention the destructive impact natural disasters have had on farms across Ohio this year and request that recently approved disaster relief resources approved by the President be used to assist Ohio’s farmers.

The Ashtabula-Geauga-Lake County FSA office can provide affected farmers with further information. The office, located at 33 Grand Valley Avenue in Orwell, Ohio, can be reached at (888) 217-3947 or (440) 437-6330.


Recent Posts

May 16, 2024
National Security

Joyce’s Israel Security Assistance Support Act Passes House

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, House Appropriations Financial Services and General Government Subcommittee Chairman Dave Joyce (OH-14) applauded the House passage of the Israel Security Assistance Support Act he introduced alongside House Appropriations Defense Subcommittee Chairman Ken Calvert (R-CA), Full Committee Chairman Tom Cole (R-OK), and State and Foreign Operations Subcommittee Chairman Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL). The legislation curbs President Biden’s […]

May 15, 2024

Aviation Reauthorization Bill with Joyce Priorities Heads to President’s Desk

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congressman Dave Joyce (OH-14) voted in favor of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Reauthorization Act of 2024 to increase aviation safety, improve airport infrastructure, and bolster aviation technology for the next five years. The FY24 FAA reauthorization contains Congressman Joyce’s language that would designate the Youngstown-Warren Regional Airport (YNG) as a primary airport. Currently, YNG is the only commercial airport in the country with an Air Reserve […]

May 14, 2024
Great Lakes

Joyce Announces $6M for Lake Erie Coastal Restoration

OHIO – Today, Congressman Dave Joyce (OH-14) announced $6 million in funding from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s Migratory Bird Conservation Commission to help conserve, restore, and enhance Lake Erie’s wetlands. Congressman Joyce was a lead co-sponsor of the Migratory Birds of the Americas Conservation Enhancements Act of 2023 that was recently signed into law.  “Every year, […]