Joyce Elected as Chair of the Republican Governance Group

Jul 27, 2022

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, members of the Republican Governance Group unanimously elected Congressman Dave Joyce (OH-14) to Chair the caucus in the 118th Congress. He succeeds Congressman John Katko (NY-24), who stepped down from the role last week prior to his retirement from Congress at the end of the current session. Congresswoman Jamie Herrera Beutler (WA-03) was re-elected as Vice Chair and Congressman Blake Moore (UT-1) was elected to fill the Vice Chair position to be vacated by Congressman Fred Upton (MI-06).

“If ever there was a group hellbent on breaking through Washington’s dysfunction, it’s us,” said Joyce. “I’m honored that my colleagues have put their faith in me to lead the charge as we head into this next Congress. With the House all but guaranteed to flip in November, the results-oriented Republicans in our ranks are ready to carve out a viable path forward for effective lawmaking. I look forward to being their advocate and working with all corners of our conference to advance their pragmatic voices.”

“During his time at the helm, John Katko has grown our membership and fostered a thoughtful forum where members can have responsible policy discussions,” Joyce continued. “I hope to build on his leadership and position the Republican Governance Group to have a significant impact on the way the House legislates in the 118th Congress. We are the dealmakers this legislative body cannot govern without and we’re going to hit the ground running.”

Joyce was elected to represent the 14th Congressional District of Ohio in November of 2012 and is currently in his fifth term serving the communities where he was born and raised. In addition to serving on the House Republican Steering Committee, he sits on the House Ethics Committee, the House Select Committee on Modernization, and the powerful House Appropriations Committee, serving as the Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Interior, Environment and Related Agencies. He has been consistently recognized as one of the most bipartisan and effective lawmakers in Congress.


Recent Posts

Jun 6, 2023
Great Lakes

Great Lakes Task Force Calls on Canada to Address Great Lakes Fishery Commission Operations

WASHINGTON D.C. – Representatives David Joyce (R-OH), Debbie Dingell (D-MI), Bill Huizenga (R-MI), and Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), co-chairs of the bipartisan Congressional Great Lakes Task Force in the U.S. House of Representatives, along with Representatives Lisa McClain (R-MI), Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.), and Mike Gallagher (R-WI), today led a letter to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau urging Canada […]

Jun 2, 2023

Joyce Announces 2023 Congressional Art Competition Winner

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Congressman Dave Joyce (OH-14) announced Maria Domic as the winner of the 2023 Congressional Art Competition for Ohio’s 14th Congressional District. Maria, who is a junior at Mentor High School, won with her submission The Little Things. Her artwork will be placed on display in the U.S. Capitol for an entire year.  The competition’s […]

Jun 2, 2023
Economy & Jobs

Joyce, Golden Introduce Legislation to Rein In the Power of the Federal Government 

WASHINGTON D.C. – This week, U.S. Congressmen Dave Joyce (OH-14) and Jared Golden (ME-02) introduced the Limiting the Intrusive Bureaucracy and Empowering Regulatory Transparency for You (LIBERTY) Act. The legislation would require economically significant guidance documents issued by the Executive Branch to adhere to the same oversight standards subjected to rules and regulations, ensuring that guidance documents go through the public notice […]