Congressman David Joyce : Press Releases : Joyce Named Co-Chair of Great Lakes Task Force


    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName John Smith  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Haverhill District Office
    1234 S. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    district 21st District of California  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2012  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2012  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2012  
    repStateABBR AZ  
    repDistrict 1  
    repState Arizona  
    repDistrictText 1st  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills  

Sign up for my E-Newsletter


Joyce Named Co-Chair of Great Lakes Task Force

WASHINGTON – This week, Congressman Dave Joyce (OH-14) was elected by his colleagues as Co-Chair of the House Great Lakes Task Force. A bipartisan working group that aims to enhance the economic and environmental health of the Great Lakes region, the Task Force is also Co-Chaired by Marcy Kaptur (OH-9), Bill Huizenga (MI-2) and Debbie Dingell (MI-12).

“A lifelong resident of Northeast Ohio, I have never been shy about my support for the Great Lakes,” said Dave. “The lakes are an invaluable natural resource and economic powerhouse, providing more than 1.5 million jobs, supplying 90% of our nation’s fresh surface water, supporting over 3,500 species of plants and animals, and generating $62 billion in wages every year. I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Task Force, especially Reps. Kaptur, Huizenga and Dingell, to continue protecting the national treasure that is the Great Lakes system and preserve it for both current and future generations.”

“Congressman Dave Joyce is a powerful advocate for our beloved Great Lakes, especially Lake Erie,” said Kaptur. “He has been a remarkable partner in advancing bipartisan legislation to improve water quality, combat Harmful Algal Blooms, and strengthening the Great Lakes region’s seven billion dollar fishing industry and equally important tourism industry. I am glad to have him as a Co-Chair of the Great Lakes Task Force.”

“I can’t think of a better person to be named a Co-Chair of the Great Lakes Task Force than Dave Joyce,” said Huizenga. “Rep. Joyce and I have worked together on a host of issues to protect, preserve, and strengthen the Great Lakes.  Dave is someone who can reach across the aisle and achieve meaningful results for the Great Lakes region, and I look forward to working with him even more in this new role.”

“The Great Lakes are not only a natural resource but a way of life that support communities throughout the region,” said Dingell. “We recognize Rep. Joyce’s leadership and look forward to continuing working on bipartisan policies that advance the region, promote economic development, and protect these vital waters.”

Known as “the Great Lakes Guy” to his colleagues in Congress, Dave has long championed the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative (GLRI) and other important programs to protect and preserve the Great Lakes. As the Ranking Member of the House Appropriations Committee’s Subcommittee on Interior, Environment and Related Agencies, Dave continues to lead the effort in Congress to ensure the Great Lakes receive the investments necessary to protect them to the fullest extent.

Since its founding in the 1980’s, the Great Lakes Task Force has worked to build support for key regional programs to enhance environmental quality and economic development throughout the eight-state Great Lakes region. Current members include: Marcia Fudge (OH-11), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Tim Ryan (OH-13), Mike Turner (OH-10), Mike Quigley (IL-05), Jack Bergman (MI-01), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Chris Collins (NY-27), Bill Foster (IL-11), Mike Gallagher (WI-08), Brian Higgins (NY-28), Mike Kelly (PA-16), Joe Morelle (NY-25), Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), Ron Kind (WI-03), Jackie Walorski (IN-02), Pete Visclosky (IN-01), Fred Upton (MI-04), Brenda Lawrence (MI-14), Paul Mitchell (MI-10), Gwen Moore (WI-04), Glenn Thompson (PA-15), Haley Stevens (MI-36), John Moolenaar (MI-04), Elissa Slotkin (MI-08), Tim Walberg (MI-07), Brad Schneider (IL-10), Bobby L. Rush (IL-01), and Andy Levin (MI-09).


  • Press Contact

    For more information about our releases, please contact Katherine Sears at 202-225-5731.